Mar 032016

Congratulations to the following WOW Dems candidates who won their primary contests (though still not yet official) and kudos to Cristin Padgett, who may have lost the primary but won our hearts! She was so courageous in standing up for being a secular humanist, an atheist in this land of religion. She inspired millennials to get involved in politics and government, and for that she has made her mark! We hope to see you run again Cristin!

Please get involved in one or more of these campaigns. You can block walk, donate to their campaign or do whatever you can to help these fine Democrats get elected in November! Click on their names for more info.

Karen JacobsKaren Jacobs from Heath, Texas won the Democratic nomination for Texas House District 33. She is a business leader and retired engineer, and has been active in the Democratic party of Rockwall. She believes in the importance of public education, investing in roads, water and renewable energy. She has practical solutions for the problems we face.


Gnanse NelsonGnanse Nelson won the Democratic nomination for Texas House District 66. She works for Star Local Media in Plano and is active in the community. She is a Public Relations and Communications professional and studied political science and history at LSU. Her focus is on affordable higher education, federal funding to expand healthcare to low-income Texans. With her great intelligence and ability to work across the aisle, she will make a great Representative to the State House!

Denise HamiltonDenise Hamilton won the Democratic nomination for Texas House District 89. She is a self-employed realtor, a civic award winner, active in the Plano multicultural Outreach Roundtable, AVID, CASA, Big Brothers and Big Sisters. She is an experienced leader who goes above and beyond to standing up for the rights of all.


Victoria NeaveVictoria Neave won the Democratic nomination for Texas House District 107 (which includes parts of East Dallas, Garland and Mesquite). She is an attorney who has been endorsed by Annies List! She has boundless energy to campaign, and to work for the people she represents once she gets into office!


Dorotha OckerDorotha Ocker won the Democratic nomination for Texas House District 115, which covers Northwest Dallas County. She is a Stanford-trained trial lawyer and a partner in her own law firm in Carrolton. She is running on a platform of higher wages, equal pay and affordable college for Texans.


We would also like to congratulate WOW Dems member Nancy Bryant, whose husband John Bryant has won the Democratic nomination for Texas House District 70. Check out his website for a great event on March 18th!

Also, Mike Rawlins has won a second term as Chairman of the Collin County Democratic Party. He and his wife Diana are WOW Dems!

Unfortunately, Michael Filak, husband of WOW Dems member Carolyn Filak, did not win the primary to become the Democratic nominee for US Congress, District 3. He put on a wonderful campaign full of issues and ideas. He asks us to get behind primary winner Adam Bell to beat the Republicans and take Sam Johnson’s spot in Congress!

We would also like to get behind Ramona Brumfield who won the Democratic nomination for Justice of the Peace District 3-1. She recently became a WOW Dems member! To Michael Messer, friend to many WOW Dems members, we hope you run again. You make a fine candidate!

Here are some other winning local candidates:

Dennise Garcia Court of Appeals #7 District 5
Gena Slaughter Court of Appeals #4 District 5
Scott Coleman Texas House District 67
Laura Irvin Texas House District 102
Jan McDowell US House of Representatives CD 24

 Posted by at 2:59 pm

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.